trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 9:13 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 8:13 am 
Novice
Novice

I am collecting parts to build my first amp. I bought a 6pos switch, and my thoughts were to add different caps and resistors on it and be able to select different settings that will change the sound for each one. It is a triple throw so I could do resistor cap combo's.

What would be the best component to change to alter the tone?

Bob

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 10:22 am 
Holy Ghost
Holy Ghost

Have you looked over the posting in the Guidelines For Tone Tweaking. That may be a starting point.

What tone do you want to affect most? I have some 18 quite specific tone tweakings if you are interested.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 1:16 pm 
Novice
Novice

I did look at the guidlines for tone tweaking. Like I said this is my first build, as I am now receiving parts, but I am not fully comfortable with which components affect tone the most. I just want a versatile amp where I can switch the tone with the switch. I will start with what I think and read will change the tone, but in reality I will probably change it when my build is done. That way I can change the components to my desire.

I was thinking on adding extra turrets on my board to house the parts thats connected to my switch, to make it neater and easier to change parts. I ogt a few more inches on my turret board for this reason specifically.

I'm sure someone has done this, I would like some thoughts on this.

Thanks again,

Nice Site BTW!

Bob

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 2:49 pm 
Novice
Novice

Stephen,

I would glady take some help if you send them my way.

Thanks Bob

Post subject: 18 Specific Tone Tweaks
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 2:55 pm 
Holy Ghost
Holy Ghost

Below are some modifications you might choose to implement in order to change the tone and response of your 18: