trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:46 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 1:46 pm 
Experienced
Experienced

I set up the Tramp to do some recording today, with the goal of using different tubes and speakers as I've been promising for what seems like several years now. Drop D. Humbuckers. 6L6 as the power tube. Everything dimed, "tude" and "fat" engaged. When I played some really low riffs (open D, etc), the sound started cutting in and out. I noticed the power tube light up a little differently...some blue "swirling" is the best I can describe it...which coincided when the lowest notes were played. Turned off the amp, cooled down, replaced the 6L6 with a 5881, fired her back up with the same settings...same exact symptoms. I removed the back panel to see what was going on. When I played really low notes, the OT 5K/2.5K switch seemed to be arcing across the terminals or possibly from the switch housing onto the chassis. If I dial back the VRM to around 7 or 8, no problems.

I can't remember the exact rating of the switch for the OT, but if I recall correctly it was 6A or 10A@125VAC, 3A or 5A@250VAC, or something like that.

Is this likely just a switch failure when then OT is drawing a lot of current? Recommendations for an appropriately spec'd switch and supplier would be greatly appreciated. Any additional trouble shooting I should be doing here?

Thanks!

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:40 pm 
Experienced
Experienced

I see on the schematic that a 5A DPST switch is called for in this application. A few questions:
Shouldn't this be a double throw switch?
I currently have a SPDT rated at 5A at 250VAC. However we are switching 400VDC thru this switch. Will this be adequate?
I'm thinking I should wire up a DPDT with the leads running through both sides of the switch, i.e the wire from pin 3 runs to both of the center lugs.