trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:25 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Hiss 'n Hum
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 4:15 pm 

Hello,

I just finished my first build of the 5E3 kit and I am truly amazed by the sound quality. What a wonderful articulation this amp has!

I do however have some issues with loud Hiss/White-noise on high volumes (from 11-12) on both channels. And a little Hum.
The Hiss is more prominent on the Bright channel and starting at lower volume and increasing in volume with the dial.
On he Normal channel the Hiss only becomes disturbing when the volume is past 11.
The Hum is more prominent when the volumes are both on 1 and by turning up the tone.

As this is my first build I am probably overlooking something obvious and hope your collective know-how can pinpoint the solution to my problem.
I did all my investigations without anything plugged into any of the inputs.

I changed the V1 and V2 with different tubes to see if that made any difference, but sadly it didn't.
When V1 (12AY7) was removed the Hiss was gone, but substituted by a Hum. This hum becomes more noticeable the more I turn up the tone control.
When I remove V2 (12AX7) there is no hiss or hum.

I checked the continuity on the ground wires and I get a solid "Beep" from my Multimeter, so I guess they are fine?
I tried moving the wires so they aren't touching too much. No change.
When I probe the yellow wires coming from the 4 68k resistors and probe the resistor-bodies with a chopstick, I can hear the probing amplified through my speaker. Is this normal?
Whenever I check the voltages on the filter caps before I start probing inside my chassis, I also check the caps too. Don't really know why...must be a weird habit I am developing :)