trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:16 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:21 pm 

Hello,

I am a first time amp builder working on my Tweed kit.

I have wired up the heaters, power transformer, fuse holder, stand-by switch and the pilot light socket. The instructions say it is now a good time to check that the power transformer is working properly. It says to install the fuse and carefully apply power to the circuit (i have built a current limiting light bulb) and check the AC voltages are within range of spec.

I have not had a lot of experience using my multi meter, mostly I have checked my resistors. I have watched some videos on setting up my multi meter to measure AC but I am not sure how to proceed measuring on my amp (where specifically should I be placing my leads when doing the measuring). Also the instructions say the voltages will be higher with no tubes installed, how much higher is acceptable?

I have attached some pictures of what I have wired up so far.

Any advice/directions would be appreciated.

Cheers

Stephen

Attachments:
IMG_2456.JPG
IMG_2456.JPG [ 1.88 MiB | Viewed 9686 times ]
IMG_2457.JPG
IMG_2457.JPG [ 1.7 MiB | Viewed 9686 times ]
IMG_2458.JPG
IMG_2458.JPG [ 1.34 MiB | Viewed 9686 times ]
IMG_2461.JPG
IMG_2461.JPG [ 1.77 MiB | Viewed 9686 times ]

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:36 am 
Expert
Expert

Set your meter for AC volts. Be very careful measuring the high voltage. With one probe connected to the chassis (it doesn't matter which one) and the other probe on pin 4 of the rectifier tube socket you should read 350 volts or more. The readings will be higher with no tubes in place. Maybe 375 volts or so, the reading isn't that critical for this test.

With the probe still connected to the chassis, move the other probe to pin 6 of the rectifier tube socket and you should get the pretty much the same reading you got on pin 4.