trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 4:20 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Dec 25, 2013 10:11 am 
Friend
Friend

Starting my first amp build. I currently have and play through a 59 Bassman reissue, a Blues Junior, and an Egnater Rebel 20, so you can probably tell I like that Fender tone. So much so that if this amp works out, I'm likely to sell the Egnater (have never quite grown to like it as much as I expected) and replace it with the 5E3.

I've done lots of guitar wiring, including on-board active electronics and effects and even a pickup mixer (back in the 80s), and have done some limited stomp box wiring, but this is my first time working with tubes. I've never been a great solderer, but managed to get by. Fortunately, my son, fresh out of high school electronics electives, is a great solderer, and he's helping me out with this build.

I ordered a kit and cab from Stephen, and he sent it out once the cab was complete. After a shipping-related hiccup that resulted in a bent chassis, Stephen rushed me out a replacement just in time for xmas!

Some quick pics, and then some notes about my concerns/questions so far...

Front hardware:
Attachment:
File comment: Front hardware
photo 2.JPG
photo 2.JPG [ 2.4 MiB | Viewed 22061 times ]

Back hardware:
Attachment:
File comment: Back hardware
photo 1.JPG
photo 1.JPG [ 2.32 MiB | Viewed 22061 times ]

Post subject: Heater wiring...
PostPosted: Wed Dec 25, 2013 10:19 am 
Friend
Friend

Here are some pics for the heater wiring. We actually started from the "end" at V1 and traced in to the lamp, which seems to be opposite the recommended approach in the manual (seems like it wanted us to start at the lamp and go out from there to the power tube sockets, and thence to the preamps), but I figured it might be easier going the other direction. I know, second-guessing the docs is probably not a good first step, we'll see...

Starting with the preamp sockets: