trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 8:00 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 12:12 am 
Friend
Friend

Hey guys (and girls if you're out there)!

I'm pretty new to amp building and indeed this is my first build.

I went down to Stephens' last Sunday to pick up the ol' 5e3 and also got to see his wonderful shop. Such a wonderful man with a very nice wife, dog, and cats :)

Well a few days ago I started the build and it was much easier than I had imagined it to be... things came together quickly and before I even know it I had installed the eyelet board and soldered all the components together. Feeling very excited and not finding any batteries to get my multimeter working, I decided to just turn her own to see if I at least get some sound out of her... and indeed there was sweet beautiful sound :) I switched through all the channels and tried both output jacks... everything was fine... except for a strange hum.

I played around for maybe 5-10 minutes and then turned her off because I don't have the appropriate speaker yet and I was plugged into a 4ohm 6" fender crap speaker.

I turned it on again immediately after turning it off to ensure that everything was fine, but unfortunately that was not the case. There was no sound coming from any of the channels. When I switched it to standby there was a hum, but turning standby off it was dead silent.

I kept fiddling around, turning it on and off and checking my connection when suddenly it came alive again! All inputs and outputs worked but when I turned it off and then on again it was the same situation. No sound! Just a hum on standby.

I found an analog multimeter laying around and took some measurements with it. I'm not exactly sure how to read it so I'm gonna give you guys two different readings, one using the v-ma and the other using dBs (it says ACV10 in red)...

ACV10 / dB

v5 - 18 dc (8/2) - 19ac (4/6)
v4 - 20dc (3) 15ac(8)