trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:27 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:59 am 
Friend
Friend

So after a long build process, I finally made my last solder. I have no experience with electronics so I had to do a lot of reading and research and I went pretty slow. I think my soldering could be improved (especially on the bus bars and grounds) and after some frustration with trying to get the wire to dress properly, I just did what I could to make it somewhat neat.

Let me know what you think. Anything look strange or out of place? The review of everything and figuring out how to take readings properly is the next step.

It's been fun so far and I'm looking forward to sparking it up.

Thanks to cigarman and 2X6L6, your pictures were a big help.

Steve

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 4:05 am 
Expert
Expert

It's a hard amp to keep looking neat inside. Lots of wires and not a lot of extra space. Your build looks good, though.

Double check all your wiring and solder connections. If possible use an ohm meter to verify that everything that's supposed to be connected actually is. Then power it up and check all the voltages like it says in the manual.

I like to power amps up first with no tubes and check all the AC voltages. Then with just the rectifier and check the B+. Then add the preamp tubes and check the voltages again. And finally add the power amp tubes and a speaker.

The voltages will read high until all the tubes are in place.

Good luck!

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 12:30 pm 
Friend
Friend

Looks GREAT, Steve. I really like the way you did the contour switch. Despite my best efforts, mine looks like hell. But it works well. Looking for a tone report next!

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 3:42 pm 
Friend
Friend

Thanks guys. Good advice Mitch. I'll start measuring tonight if all goes well.