trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:56 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 10:32 am 

Hi everyone,

I've been building effects pedals for around three years now, and recently jumped into amps by modding my 18-year-old Fender Blues Jr. I did the Bill M mods and also recapped the remaining parts of the power supply not covered by his kit with some nice F&Ts. It's a huge improvement and I've learned a lot. Needless to say, this has led to the urge to actually build an amp!

Looking at your kits, the TC-15 looks to be the best fit for my needs. I primarily play at home, but not necessarily always just bedroom volume. I'm looking for something that can rock out on its own if called upon, but that can also handle pedals well. Am I on the right track? I do love the Vox/Matchless type sounds but am open to ideas as well.

Anyway, I'm impressed by what you have on offer and look forward to hopefully building one of your amps in the near future!

Cheers,

Bret

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 4:33 pm 
Expert
Expert

Consider the 18W too

Little bit easier to build than the TC-15. There is quite a few variants of the 18W so there is some tones to choose from.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 5:00 pm 

Thanks, I will definitely try to get more familiar with the different 18w options. I found a couple of YouTube clips besides the one on Trinity's site, and it does sound sweet with a Strat!

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 7:55 am 
Holy Ghost
Holy Ghost

We've had a lot of successful first time builders for both. the TC15 is a little more complicated that the 18 with an extra tube, contour control, MV pull switch and crunch-munch switch. It's a great amp tone wise for what you want and you can add a VRM for power control if you want.