trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Tue Nov 24, 2020 4:30 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2020 6:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:30 pm
Posts: 2
Hey guys! Looking for some help here - I am building my first TC15, and everything seems to be wired correctly according to the version 11 layout I was sent for 120v. I'm following the instructions for step 1 of first power up:

Quote:
1. With no rectifier in place, apply power and test the High voltage AC and ensure that it is on the
correct pins of the rectifier and in the correct voltage range (290 VAC). Test ALL the filament
voltages (rectifier, power and pre-amp tubes) and ensure they correct are on the correct pins for all
tubes.


However, as soon as I flip the power switch, the fuse AND the indicator bulb blows (I've been through two of each already). I have poured over the layout and checked it over and over against my wiring and cannot for the life of me find the error.

Here are photos of what I have. Don't mind the untidy wiring - I've been troubleshooting and moving them aroundnall afternoon.

Any input is greatly appreciated.


Attachments:
File comment: Here's the IEC wiring
Image from iOS (4).jpg
Image from iOS (4).jpg [ 459.57 KiB | Viewed 366 times ]
File comment: Rectifier socket wiring
Image from iOS (2).jpg
Image from iOS (2).jpg [ 793.7 KiB | Viewed 366 times ]
File comment: Terminal strip wiring
Image from iOS (3).jpg
Image from iOS (3).jpg [ 750.62 KiB | Viewed 366 times ]
File comment: Switch and lamp wiring
Image from iOS (1).jpg
Image from iOS (1).jpg [ 784.11 KiB | Viewed 366 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2020 2:24 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 3:42 pm
Posts: 517
Location: Qualicum Beach, BC
Your wiring looks correct for 120-volt power. That's what you have where you live, right? Make sure there are no accidental shorts to ground from any of your wires.

You might want to use a "dim-bulb tester" for the initial power-up. They are easy to make and there are lots of examples on the Internet.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group