trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Fri May 24, 2024 1:26 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:42 pm 
Novice
Novice

So I've decided to jump on the pile.

By way of background, I thought I'd share my modding/building experience as a barometer for those wondering if they can get into amp building. I hope it doesn't come off as bragging, because that's not my intention. When I first wanted to get into building/modding I had no electrical experience. None, nada, zip. So I was always left wondering when I looked at other people's projects, I wonder how much experience they've had?

Long and short is, if I can do it I would think almost anyone can.

I've been playing guitar seriously for five months (by seriously, I mean at least an hour day with a semi-structured practice routine).

In that time I've purchased, built and/or modified:

Epi Les Paul Standard (Seymour Duncan '59 and JB pickups)
Epi Dot Studio (Gibson PAF '57s)
Fender MIM Tele (Seymour Duncan 1/4 Pounder and Vintage pickups)

BYOC Tonebender MkII

Fender Champ 600 with a speaker swap from stock to a Jensen Mod series and a retube to JJs.

Traynor YCV50W combo with 1x12 extension cab and a Eurotube refit.

A Gilmore Jr. 1/2 watt I built from a kit and a homebrew 1x12 extension cab with a BBQ Silver Bell.

So I couldn't wait until I got my hands on the sIII.

First things first, I took stock and a page from Jimmy James' book and used a multimeter to read the resistors and then taped them to a marked sheet for easy reference.

Next, I soldered the ground bus and jumper wires on the back of the board.