trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Sun Jul 21, 2019 5:11 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:03 am 
Offline
Friend
Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 11:18 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
does anyone have some nice plans or know where I can find (purchase) some nice layout/blue print(ish) plans for combo and head cabinets?

I'm interested in building a combo amp first based on the sweet sounding TMB sIII. Probably with a single 8 ohm greenback.

Any links or ideas would be appreciated. I'm still in the data collection phase, part sourcing phase. Maybe if we get some good info dear Stephen can make a sticky for here :)

_________________
"See, in my line of work you got to keep repeating things over and over and over again for the truth to sink in, to kind of catapult the propaganda." —George W. Bush, Greece, N.Y., May 24, 2005


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 5:13 pm 
Offline
Friend
Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 11:18 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Hmmm I actually found some stuff on the 18 Watt page...

http://www.18watt.com/modules.php?name=Downloads&d_op=viewdownload&cid=35

_________________
"See, in my line of work you got to keep repeating things over and over and over again for the truth to sink in, to kind of catapult the propaganda." —George W. Bush, Greece, N.Y., May 24, 2005


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 6:11 am 
Offline
Holy Ghost
Holy Ghost
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:10 pm
Posts: 7330
Location: Brighton, Canada
I can post plans for cabs if you have found some good ones that work. I have various sets of plans for cabs I build, but I posted only the Lightning ones.

_________________
Stephen
Web: www.trinityamps.com. Facebook: facebook.com/trinityamps. Twitter: @trinityamps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 2:11 am
Posts: 5
Location: Adelaide, Australia
The 18 Watt site has the combo plan, anyone have or located plans for the Head design


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 9:29 am 
Offline
Holy Ghost
Holy Ghost
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:10 pm
Posts: 7330
Location: Brighton, Canada
I'll post some 'marked up' pics for you to use.

Meantime, if you want a small box head to fit the sIII, it's 24" X 8" x8" . You can even make it 22" wide if you want. Cut outs, front & rear - 16-1/2" X 2.25"

_________________
Stephen
Web: www.trinityamps.com. Facebook: facebook.com/trinityamps. Twitter: @trinityamps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 6:10 pm 
Offline
Holy Ghost
Holy Ghost
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:10 pm
Posts: 7330
Location: Brighton, Canada
Here's the sIII head cabinet design, as a guideline and in rough format.


Image

_________________
Stephen
Web: www.trinityamps.com. Facebook: facebook.com/trinityamps. Twitter: @trinityamps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: sIII chassis size
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 2:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 2:11 am
Posts: 5
Location: Adelaide, Australia
The head cabinet images are great help, thanks.
Just for the record what are the dimensions of the sIII head chassis WxDxH.
I am still waiting for mine to arrive, but I am about to start building the box and want to be sure of the sizing. I will be using 3/4" ply for the outer sides.

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 2:18 pm 
Offline
Holy Ghost
Holy Ghost
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:10 pm
Posts: 7330
Location: Brighton, Canada
Rowbo:

Chassis Dimesnsions are: 20" W X 6.5" D X 2.5" H

or approx 510 X 165 X 65 +- 1 mm

_________________
Stephen
Web: www.trinityamps.com. Facebook: facebook.com/trinityamps. Twitter: @trinityamps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 2:11 am
Posts: 5
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Thanks Stephen,

Just confirming the depth measurement of 6 5/8" on the image, is the distance between the back of the Front panel and the back of the Back panel.
Therefore the 6 5/8" depth includes 6 1/2" for the chassis plus 1/8" to allow for the front and back face plates.

Cheers Rob.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 7:43 pm 
Offline
Holy Ghost
Holy Ghost
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:10 pm
Posts: 7330
Location: Brighton, Canada
rowbo wrote:
Thanks Stephen,

Just confirming the depth measurement of 6 5/8" on the image, is the distance between the back of the Front panel and the back of the Back panel.
Therefore the 6 5/8" depth includes 6 1/2" for the chassis plus 1/8" to allow for the front and back face plates.

Cheers Rob.


Yes, the dimension is correct, 6-5/8" between the two panels.

_________________
Stephen
Web: www.trinityamps.com. Facebook: facebook.com/trinityamps. Twitter: @trinityamps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 1:10 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:56 pm
Posts: 619
Stephen,

I don't know if it's listed on the above diagram...but what thickness plywood is apropriate for the head cabinet?

also, what roundover bit is used for the cabinet and where?

-F


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 2:06 pm 
Offline
Holy Ghost
Holy Ghost
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:10 pm
Posts: 7330
Location: Brighton, Canada
It's missing:
:arrow: 1/2" thick Baltic Birch plywood.
:arrow: 3/8" Radius roundover.
:idea: I use a Roman Ogee on the front edges to give it a bit more of a radius look.

_________________
Stephen
Web: www.trinityamps.com. Facebook: facebook.com/trinityamps. Twitter: @trinityamps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 2:18 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:56 pm
Posts: 619
coco wrote:
It's missing:
:arrow: 1/2" thick Baltic Birch plywood.
:arrow: 3/8" Radius roundover.
:idea: I use a Roman Ogee on the front edges to give it a bit more of a radius look.


Half inch? Thats it? hmm...

I've been using 3/4 on all my other various head cabs...I guess that makes sense, it looks a bit less 'thick'...

As far as the roundover goes....from what I can see from pictures of the 18watt head cabinets, the back corners of the cabinet are *not* rounded over, but the front and sides are....correct?

-F


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 10:31 pm 
Offline
Holy Ghost
Holy Ghost
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:10 pm
Posts: 7330
Location: Brighton, Canada
Correct. Dont round over the rear. I use 3/4" on Matchless style cabs.

_________________
Stephen
Web: www.trinityamps.com. Facebook: facebook.com/trinityamps. Twitter: @trinityamps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 11:11 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:56 pm
Posts: 619
Right, I used 3/4" on mine as well...and the other amp...

But it makes sense that the marshall cab calls for a thinner ply....since it looks thinner in the pictures...

-F


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 4:58 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:56 pm
Posts: 619
Hey Stephen (or others),

I'm about to start rounding over my head cab....and I was wondering....do the openings on the front and back panels get rounded over with the 3/8" roundover as well?

-F


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 5:16 pm 
Offline
Holy Ghost
Holy Ghost
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:10 pm
Posts: 7330
Location: Brighton, Canada
I round them over with 3/8" radius on the 18s; square on the 15s

_________________
Stephen
Web: www.trinityamps.com. Facebook: facebook.com/trinityamps. Twitter: @trinityamps


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:59 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:56 pm
Posts: 619
Well, I've had good luck with wood stock in the past. However, the wood I used to build my sIII cabinet is a little suspect...either that, or I had the variable transformer for my router set too low.

I ended up with alot of tearing when I rounded over the head cabinet...so I've had to make some repairs with the aid of wood filler...

Good thing I'm covering this thing with tolex! :)

-Frank


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 3:46 pm 
Offline
Holy Ghost
Holy Ghost
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:10 pm
Posts: 7330
Location: Brighton, Canada
It's really hard to not chip especially the finger joints in the corners. A little filler here & there is expected. Tolex will take care of any flaws!

_________________
Stephen
Web: www.trinityamps.com. Facebook: facebook.com/trinityamps. Twitter: @trinityamps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 3:54 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:56 pm
Posts: 619
Yeah, especially since we're working with ply, which I supose, would chip more than hardwood. Regardless, the cab is already filled and drying...nothing some sandpaper can't fix now...

Regardless, the 3/8" roundover looks good. I had run out and gotten myself a bit, since all I had here was a 1/2". Even though the difference is 1/8", the 1/2" bit would have looked stupid here....probably wouldn't have even worked with the 1/2" ply.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mebond11 and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group