trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Sat Sep 21, 2019 11:41 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: multimeter break down
PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:44 am 
Offline
Friend
Friend

Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 2:39 pm
Posts: 14
Location: w-europe
I installed a larger, higher voltage in my sIII kind of amp.
It sounds better, better cleans, more alive.

I clipped my digital multimeter to the ground and to pin7 on an el84 before I put it on. (multim on 1000Vdc)
When I applied voltage, the voltage rose to 337V,
then I lost myself in playing guitar with a big smile on my face.

When I looked again, the meter said 1.
I quickly switched the amp off.
The meter now stays on 1. whatever I do, tried a new battery, ...
It has probably broken down, there's no sign of burned components inside.
This is a good excuse to buy myself a new and better one.

But what did I do wrong ? Can't you connect it before switchin on because of spikes ?
Or is it more likely that it just had to break down sometime ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:40 am 
Offline
Holy Ghost
Holy Ghost
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:10 pm
Posts: 7370
Location: Brighton, Canada
1. Is there an internal fuse you can check?
2. Try a new battery
3. Usually when they beak down you see nothing on the display
4. Its unlikely hi voltage caused it. I cant see a spike going over 1000V
5. You should be able to hook it up before power is applied. On the DC side,there is filtering/smoothing
6. Maybe it's time! :)

Indeally, B+ should be around 350V BTW.

_________________
Stephen
Web: www.trinityamps.com. Facebook: facebook.com/trinityamps. Twitter: @trinityamps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:21 pm 
Offline
Novice
Novice

Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 9:18 pm
Posts: 61
Ward,
I agree with coco here check for an internal fuse also another thing to try is to replace the battery I have seen meters act this way with an old battery. as far as meters go you really do get what you pay for.. I have a few meters laying around but my favorite is my Fluke 179


Bill

_________________
My future's so bright I gotta wear shades


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 7:43 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:46 am
Posts: 1078
Location: PA
just had to replace mine. Doin' the same thing. It was the battery.
Later


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:21 am 
Offline
Friend
Friend

Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 2:39 pm
Posts: 14
Location: w-europe
Bwah, it was an 'el cheapo.
I bought myself a new one and wont look back.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 4:04 pm 
Offline
Expert
Expert

Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:46 am
Posts: 1078
Location: PA
What did you get?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:02 am
Posts: 1
I also encounter with similar issue. I hope I can resolve it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:14 pm 
Offline
Experienced
Experienced

Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:17 pm
Posts: 156
Location: Shawnee, OK
Myself, when I needed a replacement, I got an Amprobe 560 (owned by Fluke) to replace my old Craftsman. Couldn't go the Fluke price, wish I could, though. I just recently had to change the battery,figured out after reading manual... :oops: again. It has low battery icon AND beep to notify you, also beeps if leads are incorrectly plugged in for the testing function you set! Pretty nice for the price.

_________________
"You can always tell a German, but you can't tell 'em much!" ( Momma Ruth)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group